NPC, Journalism Institute name 2021 scholarship winners

Three journalism students are making their own headlines as winners of 2021 National Press Club scholarships and awards, announced Sept. 27, 2021: 

  • Kaleb Anderson of Washington, D.C., was recognized with the 2021 Julie Schoo Scholarship for Diversity in Journalism totaling as much as $20,000 over four years. The graduate of Benjamin Banneker Academic High School in Washington impressed judges with the maturity of his writing covering the Black Lives Matter movement over the last year. Anderson, who is studying journalism at the University of Missouri, said he wants to be a “storyteller” in order to have impact. “In journalism, I have the power to change the narrative on a topic and help bring different perspectives,” he wrote in his essay. Read more about Anderson.

  • Shradha Dinesh of Ashburn, Va., was recognized with the 2021 Richard G. Zimmerman Award, a $5,000 scholarship. Dinesh won over the judges with her role in bringing Rock Ridge High School’s moribund newspaper back to life, as well as with her writing skills. In her essay, Dinesh wrote that “as an Indian American, it is glaringly evident that newsrooms lack coverage of South Asian communities save for the occasional election-season op-ed or racist caricatures in entertainment.” Dinesh is attending the College of William & Mary in Virginia and hopes to become a journalist. Read more about Dinesh.

  • Chloë Clark of Seal Beach, Calif., is the inaugural recipient of the Wes Vernon Broadcast Scholarship. A sports broadcast journalist, Clark impressed judges with her experience in television and podcast reporting and production – often in roles she created to bring new storytelling methods to life. “The realm of journalism is my pathway to success. It represents a platform from which I tell stories, capture perspectives of all types, and advance narratives beyond the surface level,” she wrote in her essay. Clark is studying for her master’s in journalism at the USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism. The award, which promotes diversity within the field, is given to an aspiring broadcast journalist and totals as much as $20,000 over four years. Read more about Clark.

The National Press Club scholarship committee is currently reviewing applications for the 2021 Dennis and Shirley Feldman Fellowship.

Tags: , , ,

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments